Before using information found on a web page for your research project, consider the following criteria to evaluate its credibility.
You may have a higher quality Web page that could be of value to your research:
Accuracy
If your page lists the author and institution that published the page and provides a way of contacting him/her and . . .
Authority
If your page lists the author credentials and its domain is preferred (.edu, .gov, .org, or .net), and, . .
Objectivity
If your page provides accurate information with limited advertising and it is objective in presenting the information, and . . .
Currency
If your page is current and updated regularly (as stated on the page) and the links (if any) are also up-to-date, and . . .
Coverage
If you can view the information properly--not limited to fees, browser technology, or software requirement.
U.S. History Web Resources
African-American Newspapers in North Carolina
DigitalNC has digitized 18 community and 16 school papers written by and for African-Americans in North Carolina. It covers subjects such as politics, art, and literature.
American Memory is a scholarly database of American History from the Library of Congress. This database is a good source for historical photographs. There are notable sections on Native Americans, women's sufferage, the military and war, and African American history. Check it out!
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history. The collection contains books and journals from the 19th century Antebellum period through reconstruction. This database is a joint effort from Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Try the "subject browsing" for an effective search.
This on-line databases contains thousands of historical photos, diaries, newspapers, maps and other items from 160 collections of libraries, historical societies, museums and archives across New York State.
