Research Guides: Holocaust and Night (by Wiesel): Questions for Early College

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Infobase American History
American History database spans our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—and was developed and curated by leading scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Daily Life through History
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.

Infobase Modern World History
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

What conditions and ideas made the Holocaust possible?

What conditions, ideologies, and ideas made the Holocaust possible?
From the United States Holocaust Museum.

"World War II: Cause and Effect." Films Media Group, 2005. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99147&xtid=50315. Accessed 22 Nov. 2023.

“Hitler and the Origins of World War II.”
“Hitler and the Origins of World War II.” A Companion to Europe 1900-1945, Wiley-Blackwell, 2006. Modern World History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=99147&itemid=WE53&articleId=369356. Accessed 6 Nov. 2023.
Causes of World War II
From Modern World History database. Includes information about the war in the Pacific.
Final Solution
Information from the Modern World History database.

In the Midst of Civilized Europe by Jeffrey Veidlinger
Call Number: North DK 508.812 .V45 2021

ISBN: 9781250116253

Publication Date: 2021-10-26

"The mass killings of Jews from 1918 to 1921 are a bridge between local pogroms and the extermination of the Holocaust."
Holocaust by Deborah Dwork; Robert J. Van Pelt
Call Number: Book General Collection, D 804.3 .D87 2002, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus

ISBN: 0393051889

Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Why? by Peter Hayes
Call Number: D 804.3 .H387 2017

ISBN: 9780393254365

Publication Date: 2017-01-17

Radicalism and Nazi Ideology (Aryan supremacy)
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History
Mein Kampf from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

Nazis Rise to Power

"Hitler’s Mein Kampf: Prelude to the Holocaust." Films Media Group, 2022. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103806&xtid=283015. Accessed 24 Oct. 2023.

"Implementation of Terror, 1925 to 1939: Hitler—Germany's Fatal Attraction ." Films Media Group, 2015. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103806&xtid=114449. Accessed 24 Oct. 2023.

World War II, Part 1: Into the Storm." Films Media Group, 1999. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99147&xtid=10299. Accessed 22 Nov. 2023.
The Rise of the Third Reich
From the Modern World History database.
Versailles Treaty and the Weimar Constitution in Germany
From the Modern World History database.
Weimar Republic
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History
World War 1 and the Rise of Hitler
SCHWABE, KLAUS. “World War I and the Rise of Hitler.” Diplomatic History, vol. 38, no. 4, 2014, pp. 864–79. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/26376610. Accessed 6 Dec. 2023.
Mein Kampf
Mein Kampf summary and how it relates to the beginning of Nazism.
Kristallnacht
Translated from the German as "Night of Broken Glass," this event marks the beginning of the terror against Jews in Germany.
Hitler, Adolf
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History database.
Beer Hall Putsch
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History
Hitler and the origins of World War II
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History

Life Under Nazi Dictatorship

Society in Nazi Germany
Article from Modern World History

Nazi Rule from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum
women and Nazi ideology
The Nazi attitude toward women was determined by the basic beliefs of the Nazi Party. The preservation of the Aryan race meant that women had a crucial role to play as mothers.

Daily Life in Nazi-Occupied Europe PRINT BOOK SOUTH by Harold J. Goldberg
Call Number: PRINT BOOK SOUTH D 802 .E9 G65 2019

ISBN: 9781440859113

Publication Date: 2019-10-25

Daily Life in Nazi-Occupied Europe provides readers with information about political and military affairs, economic life, religious life, intellectual life, and other aspects of daily life in those countries occupied by Nazi Germany during World War II.

Culture in the Third Reich
From the USHMM website.
Book burnings from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

What Nazis and Collaborators did to Implement the Holocaust

How did the Nazis and their collaborators implement the Holocaust?
From the United States Holocaust Museum.
United States Holocaust Museum Encyclopedia - Collaboration
Website about who collaborated with the Nazis and how they aided in the Holocaust.
Vichy France
Vichy France is the name given to the right-wing, authoritarian government that succeeded the Third Republic after the fall of France to the Nazis in 1940.

Hitler's Willing Executioners by Daniel Jonah Goldhagen
Call Number: D 804.3 G648 1991

ISBN: 0679772685

Publication Date: 1997-01-28

First Concentration Camps

Chelmno and the Holocaust EBOOK by Patrick Montague
Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780807869413

Publication Date: 2012-03-19

As the first extermination camp established by the Nazi regime and the prototype of the single-purpose death camps of Treblinka, Sobibor, and Belzec, the Chelmno death camp stands as a crucial but largely unexplored element of the Holocaust.

Dachau
Proquest Guided Research

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945
Digitalized version of the USHMM's Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos
The USHMM Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos Interactive Map
Interactive map of camps and ghettos.

How did leaders, diplomats, and citizens around the world respond to the events of the Holocaust?

US Response to Holocaust - USHMM

Infobase Modern World History
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

Ken Burns US and the Holocaust video series

The U.S. and the Holocaust: A Film by Ken Burns, Lynn Novick and Sarah Botstein
Telegram Confirming Reports of Mass Executions of Polish Jews
Primary document to the US Government about the killing of Jews

In what ways did Auschwitz and the events at Auschwitz represent the overall ideology and policies of the Nazi Regime?

Auschwitz from USHMM
Wannsee Conference
Held on January 20, 1942, at Wannsee, a villa on Lake Wannsee in southwestern Berlin, the conference was a meeting called by Reinhard Heydrich between officials of the Schutzstaffel (SS) and administrators of the German civilian government to secure the cooperation of the SS and the civilians in carrying out the Final Solution, the genocide of the Jews of Europe in what historians came to call the Holocaust.
Wannsee Protocol
Infamous document prepared during the Wannsee Conference (January 20, 1942) convened by Reinhard Heydrich (head of Germany's Nazi security police) and his supervisor Heinrich Himmler to coordinate the efforts of all the Nazi agencies in planning and implementing "the final solution to the Jewish question" (Endlösung der Judenfrage).

The Holocaust by Laurence Rees
Call Number: D 804.3 .R433 2017 South Campus

ISBN: 9781610398442

Publication Date: 2017-04-18

The Holocaust: A New History is an accessible yet authoritative account of this terrible crime. A chronological, intensely readable narrative, this is a compelling exposition of humanity's darkest moment.

Wannsee talks finalized `Final Solution'
Article about the Wannsee Talks from 1942 and how they influenced the Nazi's Final Solution plans.
Mengele, Josef
Encyclopedia article from Modern World History

For Primary Sources (Speeches, Letters, Laws, Propaganda)

The Holocaust PRINT BOOK SOUTH by Stephen C. Feinstein (Foreword by)
Call Number: PRINT BOOK SOUTH D 804.19 .H55 2006 South

ISBN: 0780809351

Publication Date: 2007-09-12

Assembles 100 primary documents on this pivotal era in world history.
Defining Documents in World History: Genocide and the Holocaust EBOOK by Salem Press
Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781637000137

Publication Date: 2022-02-28

Infobase Modern World History
Library Database

Holocaust and Night (by Wiesel): Questions for Early College