Research Guides: Integration: Videos

Streaming Media Databases

Alexander Academic Video Online Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.
Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Kanopy Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.
Swank Swank allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.

Including Streaming Media in Blackboard

Streaming Video Cheat Sheet

Updated May 11, 2020

Access all film and music collections through the Databases A-Z, or the Streaming Video Research Guide.

Films on Demand

Click on Share link underneath the viewing window of the film you want to use
Copy the LTI Link (when using the copy button, check to make sure it actually picked up the correct link; if it doesn't click on the URL window and use Ctrl C to copy the link)
Open Blackboard and go to Build Content
Choose Web Link
Type a title in the Name field and insert the LTI Link in the URL field
Add instructions or description in the text box (this is a good place to remind students to use their Rowan-Cabarrus credentials when accessing library resources remotely)
Click Submit

Kanopy

Click on Share/Embed underneath the viewing window of the film you want to use
Copy the Share link
Open Blackboard and go to Build Content
Choose Web Link
Type a title in the Name field and insert the Share link in the URL field
Click Submit

Swank Digital Campus

Click on the Login/Instructor Link in the top right-hand corner of the screen in Swank
Log in to the Admin module using: Username: faculty Password: Rccc16
Choose the video you want.
Copy the Direct Watch Link for the film you want to use
There is also a spreadsheet with the URLs for current Swank films in this guide
Open Blackboard and go to Build Content
Choose Web Link
Type a title in the Name field and insert the address copied into the URL field
Click Submit

Troubleshooting Tips

If you have any problems with any of our streaming videos,

Check to see if you used the correct content option in Blackboard. For all of our current collections, you should use the Web Link option under Build Content.
Although all of our collections should work in any browser, sometimes there are glitches. So, try a different browser if you are having issues with viewing the videos.
Check to see if a firewall may be causing an issue with remote viewing.
Check to make sure you are signed in with your correct Rowan-Cabarrus credentials for remote viewing.
Check to make sure the URL has the correct proxy prefix to allow for remote access. It should look like this: https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=

Please contact a librarian or use the Ask-A-Librarian chat for assistance.

Research Skills Videos - Created by the Library

Embed video in Bb-Recommended
Link to video in Bb

Video tutorials are a great way to learn more about the research process. On our How-to-Videos page, you will find some of the best video tutorials, made by Rowan-Cabarrus librarians and others, to help students learn how to effectively do research and use the Library's resources. If you are looking for video tutorials on a topic not highlighted here, please contact a librarian. We are happy to work with you to find what you need for your class.

Video Example - Developing Keywords

Directions on embedding video in Blackboard:

Go to the How-to-video page. Select the appropriate video. The video is hosted on YouTube.
Select the "Share" link on the video toolbar at the bottom of the video. Click "Embed." Copy the embed <iframe> code using the Ctrl "C" command.
Open the Blackboard course and navigate to the Course Content section. Select your course module, where you will embed the Library video.
Select Build Content > Create > Add item.
Give the item a name. We recommend using the same name as the content you're embedding (e.g., Virtual Library Tour).
Click the "HTML" button on the toolbar of the text editor. Paste (Ctrl "V") the video <iframe> code into the HTML code view editor. Click Update.
Click "Submit." The video will not show in the editor mode. You will need to view the finished item to see it live.

This option will embed the tutorial inside the Blackboard experience.

Go to the How-to-video page. Select the appropriate video. The video is hosted on YouTube.
Select the "Share" link on the video toolbar at the bottom of the video. Copy the link using the Ctrl "C" command.
Open your Blackboard course and navigate to the Course Content section. Select the course module where you want to link the Library video.
Select Build Content > Web Link.
Give a name to the link. We recommend using the same name as the content you're embedding (e.g., Library Tutorial: APA Citations).
Paste the Library video link into the URL field.
Leave the box "This link is to a Tool Provider" unchecked.
Click "Submit."

This procedure will create a link that will take the student to the video outside of the Blackboard experience.