Finding Literary Criticism - ENG 131 - Introduction to Literature - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Databases to Find Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Infobase eBooks
eBooks covering Literature and the Humanities.
Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
Learning Literature
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Arts and Humanities and Proquest Central

Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Infobase eBooks

Infobase eBooks
eBooks covering Literature and the Humanities.

Poetry for Students - Criticism

Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.

Using Literature Database for Literary Criticism

Learning Literature
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

Salem Literature

Why Use the Library

Credible authors and journals
93 American Literature journals to search (to see a list click here)
Subject-specific databases to search
Databases of online eBooks containing criticisms

When using the Library, use keywords.

These are the words you type into the search box. Hold multi-word keywords together with quotations. Use AND, OR, or NOT to tell the databases what you want or don't want.

"Song of Myself" AND Whitman AND criticism
"Tell-Tale Heart" AND Poe AND criticism
"Walt Whitman" AND "Song of Myself" AND criticism NOT review

Your Rowan-Cabarrus Librarian

Laurie Robb

Email Me

Contact:

Instructional Librarian
South Campus, 8am-5pm
704-216-3544
laurie.robb@rccc.edu

Subjects: ACA-Academic Related, AHR-Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Technology, AUT-Automotive Systems Technology, COM-Communications, COS-Cosmetology, DRA-Drama, ENG-English, MSM-Motorsports Management Technology, PSY-Psychology

Ask-A-Librarian

Rowan-Cabarrus Student or Faculty? Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!

This service is only for Rowan-Cabarrus Community College faculty, staff, and students.

All-in-One Search for Literary Criticism - Not the best option

Today's Hours

For details on locations and scheduled closures.

ENG 131 - Introduction to Literature: Finding Literary Criticism

New All-in-One Search