A primary source is an artifact, a document, a recording, or other source of information that was created at the time under study. It serves as an original source of information about the topic (the first version). A primary source can be a person with direct knowledge of a situation.
So when should someone use primary sources? To read eyewitness accounts or view photographs or video of an event instead of relying on a summarized explanation; to interpret data yourself instead of relying on another's interpretation; to reflect on and analyze works of literature or art instead of relying on another's opinion; to verify claims made in secondary sources.
|
Some examples of primary sources include:
|
 |
A secondary source is material that relates or discusses information originally presented elsewhere. Secondary sources involve generalization, analysis, synthesis, interpretation, or evaluation of the original information. Some sources may be classified as primary or secondary, depending on how it is used.
|
Some examples of secondary sources include:
|
 |
Tertiary sources attempt to condense and summarize materials into an overview, but may also present subjective commentary and analysis (which are characteristics of a secondary source). Reference books like almanacs or user manuals would be typical examples.
|
Some examples of tertiary sources include:
|
 |
Some good places to start would be some of our databases:
Remember, however, that primary sources are original sources. Asking for interviews, checking museums or other places that specialize in local history, or looking through government documents are all great ways to research using primary sources.
Search the National Archives for collections of documents that are important to American History.
Dissent and Protest (1635-2017) by
Dissent & Protest studies crucial documents from various protests, dissents, revolts, riots, and revolutions throughout American history, from the American Revolution to the Black Lives Matter Movement of today. More than eighty primary source documents are analyzed and discussed on issues including the American Revolution, Native American dissent, women's rights, worker's rights, abolition, slave rebellions, state rights, political and war protests, the Whiskey Rebellion, racism, poverty, and civil rights. Each work features a summary overview, defining moment, author biography, document analysis, and essential themes. An historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings further supports readers in understanding the broader historical events covered.
Milestone Documents of American Leaders, Revised Edition by
This new four volume set pairs primary source texts with expert analysis by esteemed historians. Here, the lives of notable Americans are illuminated through an in-depth study of primary source texts that made them exceptional. From presidents, jurists, and legislators to influential private citizens both past and present, Milestone Documents of American Leaders features important primary source documents written by the people who shaped the nation-and crucial scholarly analysis to help the documents come alive.
Defining Documents in World History: Nationalism and Populism by
These volumes investigate important historical documents from influential nationalist and populist movements from countries and territories around the globe. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, historic events and speeches from leaders that shaped these ideas and movements, combined with documents that define Nationalism and Populism in today's society.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1960s (1960-1969) by
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1960s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period.
Defining Documents in American History: The Cold War (1945-1991) by
Defining Documents in American History: The Cold War offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped the Cold War conflict between the U.S. and the Soviet Union. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of the Cold War from 1945 to 1991.
Defining Documents in American History: 1910s by
From 1910 to 1919, the United States saw its status as a world superpower escalate-a status confirmed by the end of World War I in 1918. This new addition to the Defining Documents series profiles these formative years in modern American history, providing careful, close analysis of over forty important documents from the era.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1900s (1900-1909) by
This new addition to the Defining Documents series profiles the first decade of the 20th century in America through careful, close analysis of historic documents from the era. Over thirty primary source documents are studied, delivering a thorough examination of this crucial period in American history.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1970s (1970-1979) by
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1970s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in this title considers the significant of document analysis for students and educators.