Research Process: Find Articles (Advanced)

This tutorial on advanced searching within individual databases is a great start to understanding advanced search techinques.  Many of RCCC's databases are purchased through Proquest.  This interface is the most popular interface among the databases owned by RCCC.

Federated searching performs simple searching in multiple databases at one time. For advanced searching, search within each specific database.

Search on your subject to find databases that would be appropriate. Ex. Political Science.

Exciting News: AI is Here to Enhance Your Library Experience!

We’re thrilled to announce the integration of AI-powered tools into our library databases! This means faster, smarter, and more intuitive research assistance at your fingertips. Whether you’re searching for scholarly articles, refining citations, or exploring new topics, AI can help streamline the process—so you spend less time sifting through information and more time making meaningful discoveries.

💡 What Can AI Do for You?

• Smarter Searches: Get precise results tailored to your queries.
• Effortless Summaries: Quickly understand key takeaways from articles.
• Enhanced Citations: Improve accuracy with AI-assisted referencing.
• Research Guidance: Receive topic suggestions and deeper insights.

AI isn’t replacing your expert librarians—it’s here to empower your learning and make knowledge more accessible than ever. Ready to explore the future of research? Try it out today!

• ProQuest's AI-powered Research Assistant appears when a search is initiated from most of the databases within ProQuest Central. Read more about the AI Research Assistant on their blog and in this FAQ.

• AI Insights from EBSCO provides clear summaries of full-text articles, highlighting 2-5 key points, which helps researchers quickly assess the relevance of the article to their research and make better use of their time. It is available in most Ebsco databases. Read more about it here.