Streaming Video: Welcome

The Library currently provides access to thousands of streaming films through the following collections:

• Kanopy (educational, documentary, and independent films)
• Films on Demand (educational and documentary films)
• Swank Digital Campus (feature films)
• Alexander Academic Video Online (AVON) (educational and documentary)
• Just for Kids (kid-safe, advertisement-free films for children)
• ICE Video Library (Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy)

These can be linked in Blackboard for student access or streamed live in class.  

To find out more about these streaming video collections and browse titles, please click on the collection pages at the top. 

Streaming Video Cheat Sheet

Updated September 24, 2025

Access all film and music collections through the Databases A-Z, or the Streaming Video Research Guide.

Films on Demand

• Click on Share link underneath the viewing window of the film you want to use
• Copy the LTI Link (when using the copy button, check to make sure it actually picked up the correct link; if it doesn't click on the URL window and use Ctrl C to copy the link)
• Open Blackboard and go to Course Content
• Click on Build Content
• Choose Web Link
• Type a title in the Name field and insert the LTI Link in the URL field
• Add instructions or description in the text box
• Click Submit

Kanopy

• Click on Share underneath the viewing window of the film you want to use
• Copy the Share link
• Open Blackboard and go to Course Content
• Click on Build Content
• Choose Web Link
• Type a title in the Name field and insert the Share link in the URL field
• Click Submit

Swank Digital Campus 

• Swank films must be requested through the Library. Contact Lisa Shores for more information.
• You will receive the direct watch link from the Library. 
• Open Blackboard and go Course Content
• Click on Build Content
• Choose Web Link
• Type a title in the Name field and insert the address provided by library staff
• Click Submit

Alexander Academic Video Online (AVON)

• Click on Share link underneath the viewing window of the film you want to use
• Copy the LTI Link (when using the copy button, check to make sure it actually picked up the correct link; if it doesn't click on the URL window and use Ctrl C to copy the link)
• Open Blackboard and go to Course Content
• Click on Build Content
• Choose Web Link
• Type a title in the Name field and insert the LTI Link in the URL field
• Add instructions or description in the text box
• Click Submit

Troubleshooting Tips

If you have any problems with any of our streaming videos,

• Check to see if you used the correct content option in Blackboard. For all of our current collections, you should use the Web Link option under Build Content.
• Although all of our collections should work in any browser, sometimes there are glitches. So, try a different browser if you are having issues with viewing the videos.
• Check to see if a firewall may be causing an issue with remote viewing.
• Check to make sure you are signed in with your correct Rowan-Cabarrus credentials for remote viewing.
• Check to make sure the URL has the correct proxy prefix to allow for remote access. It should look like this: https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=

Please contact a librarian or use the Ask-A-Librarian chat for assistance.