Fox and Service Dogs - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Prison Dogs

Suggested Databases

ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Criminal Justice Database
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.

Find Your Topic

Before you start searching for sources, you need a clearer idea of what you want to find. Here's how:

The table below is the TOPIC brainstorm. Under a column list words related to the category about your topic. Include relevant synonyms.
Circle ideas that work well together. Do this multiple times to create different research topic choices.
Choose one of the research topic choices to find sources for.
See an example.

Topic	Other	People or Places	Impact	Causes

AllSides.com Media Chart

Keywords

Think about your keywords

"prison dogs"
dogs AND prisons AND PTSD
dogs AND veterans
prisoners AND dogs

Other Topics

Fishkill Correctional Facility

Depression

Social Skills and Pets

Labrador Retrievers

Citation Style Guide Handouts

Resources from RCCC

Helping War Veterans with Posttraumatic Stress Disorder: Incarcerated Individuals' Role in Therapeutic Animal Programs (Journal article)

Furst, Gennifer. Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services; Thorofare Vol. 54, Iss. 5, (May 2016): 49-57.

A grassroots movement of nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations is creating programs in which incarcerated individuals train rescued shelter dogs as therapeutic canines for Veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

_______________________________

Prison pups help veterans with PTSD (Newspaper article)

Hatch, Joshua. Asbury Park Press; Asbury Park, N.J. [Asbury Park, N.J.] 11 Nov 2009.

Since 1997, when former youth services official Gloria Gilbert Stoga read about a similar program and decided to copy it, Puppies Behind Bars has run 600 puppies through the program and placed about 350 into working service. The program, in six prisons in three states, relies on breeders to provide Labrador retrievers and golden retrievers.

_______________________________

Dogs on the Inside (Streaming Video)

Abused Dogs and Prison Inmates Healing

Dogs on the inside follows the relationships between abused dogs and prison inmates working towards a second chance. In an attempt to re-build their confidence and prepare for a new life, these prisoners must learn to handle and care for a group of neglected strays.

Library Instruction Survey

Instruction Survey

ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry: Fox and Service Dogs