Research Guides: Math: Careers

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Mathematicians A mathematician solves or directs the solution of problems in higher mathematics, including algebra, geometry, number theory, logic, and topology. Theoretical mathematicians work with the relationships among mathematical forms and the underlying principles that can be applied to problems, including electronic data processing and military planning. Applied mathematicians develop the techniques and approaches to problem solving in the physical, biological, and social sciences.
Mathematics Teachers Mathematics teachers generally work with middle-, high-school, or postsecondary students. They lecture, direct discussions, and test students' knowledge with exams, essays, and homework assignments. Teachers also develop teaching outlines and lesson plans, facilitate activities, keep class attendance records, and evaluate student progress.
Statisticians Statisticians use mathematical theories to collect and interpret information. This information is used to help various agencies, industries, and researchers determine the best ways to produce results in their work.

O-NET OnLine

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Teach courses pertaining to mathematical concepts, statistics, and actuarial science and to the application of original and standardized mathematical techniques in solving specific problems and situations. Includes both teachers primarily engaged in teaching and those who do a combination of teaching and research.
Mathematicians Conduct research in fundamental mathematics or in application of mathematical techniques to science, management, and other fields. Solve problems in various fields using mathematical methods.
Middle School Teachers Teach one or more subjects to students at the middle, intermediate, or junior high school level.
Secondary School Teachers Teach one or more subjects to students at the secondary school level.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Math Occupations
Actuaries, Data Scientists, Mathematicians and Statisticians, and Operations Research Analysts
High School Teachers High school teachers teach academic lessons and various skills that students will need to attend college and to enter the job market.
Postsecondary Teachers Postsecondary teachers instruct students in a variety of academic subjects beyond the high school level.

Resumes and Cover Letter Resources

Find Books on Resumes and Cover Letters
Click here to see a listing of print books on resume writing.
R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Career Books

101 Careers in Mathematics by Andrew Sterrett
ISBN: 9781614441168
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This third edition of the immensely popular 101 Careers in Mathematics contains updates on the career paths of individuals profiled in the first and second editions, along with many new profiles.
STEM Careers : A Student's Guide to Opportunities in Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths
ISBN: 9781911067610
Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Practical, step-by-step advice for students considering taking up a career in STEM Covers the vast range of career options available, both well-known and less well- known Includes details of academic and vocational qualifications and entry routes, from GCSEs to degrees and BTECs to apprenticeships Features information on major employers and the key skills and personal qualities they look for With real-life profiles of STEM employees and pioneers in a range of careers Helps students successfully prepare and apply for their career in STEM.
Top STEM Careers in Math by Corona Brezina
ISBN: 1477776761
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Students interested in math are often adept problem solvers with essential critical-thinking skills that can complement countless other fields of study and that are useful in a wide range of careers. Readers will learn how a background in math can be channeled into real-world opportunities in such high-interest areas as architecture, physics, astronomy, engineering, financial analysis, economics, and even sports analysis. This volume also guides math students through the process of finding and applying for jobs and describes the numerous possibilities for continued personal and professional development in the careers available to them.

Career Videos

Mathematician—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be a mathematician? In this Career Q&A video interview, Naveed Zaman talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success in mathematics. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Mathematics Teacher—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be an mathematics teacher? In this Career Q&A video interview, Tracy Motley talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and the keys to success teaching high school math. She also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Math: Careers