The Addison-Wesley Picture Dictionary by
This picture dictionary combines colourful alphabetical letter pages with 15 thematic scene pages introducing children to high-frequency words. The Skillsbook helps develop dictionary skills and includes games and puzzles to reinforce and expand the vocabulary in the Picture Dictionary.
A Friendly German-English Dictionary by
A guide to German society through the language, whether in the kitchen, on the playing field, in literature and the arts, in politics or in everyday life.
The American Heritage College Dictionary by
The newly updated American Heritage® College Dictionary, Fourth Edition, presents the very best that a college dictionary can offer. It features all the qualities that have distinguished the American Heritage® name for decades: a clear and accessible defining style, expert usage advice, and more than 2,500 photographs and drawings that enhance the definitions and invite browsing.
Random House French-English English-French Dictionary by
Here you'll find over 60,000 entries, including the most common meanings. Many entries contain idioms, phrases, or common expressions that illustrate typical usage. TheRandom House French-English English-French Dictionaryis perfect for business travelers and students alike.
NTC's New College Russian and English Dictionary by
This is a comprehensive reference useful to English and Russian speakers seeking to enhance their linguistic knowledge. With 35,000 words plus thousands of phrases and compounds given for each language, there is much which can be easily translated.
If you need to define a word or know about a topic, this is a good place to start.
This page describes print and online books that will help you to understand, spell, and pronounce English words. These books can also help you learn about topics in North American history and culture.
Dictionaries have short definitions of words. Encyclopedias have longer descriptions of words as well as historical events, maps, ideas, and people.
Ask a librarian for help finding these and other books - we are here to help!