chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ESL-English as a Second Language: Library Vocabulary

Free ESL classes are for adults whose native language is not English. Instruction is offered in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Courses are provided on campus, in the community and in workplace settings.

Common Vocabulary Used in the Library

ESL Library Vocabulary

1.

atlas

:

collection of maps

2.

author

:

the person who writes the text of the book

3.

barcode number

:

the number identification of the book that is scanned for circulation

4.

biography

:

life stories of famous people

5.

borrow (check out)

:

to take home library materials for a short time

6.

call number

:

an alpha-numeric number assigned to a book and printed on the spine, used to help locate the book

7.

catalog

:

the tool that lists and allows you to search the entire collection of the library

8.

circulation desk

:

the place where library materials are checked out to be borrowed

9.

database

:

fee-based online source authored by experts

10.

dictionary

:

provides definitions and meanings of words

11.

due date

:

the date you must return your library materials

12.

encyclopedia

:

book or set of books containing brief, factual articles on topics, event, people, arranged in alphabetical order

13.

fiction

:

stories or novels

14.

hyperlink

:

highlighted text that when clicked, takes the reader to another page

15.

index

:

section at the end of the book that list the topics covered in alphabetical order

16.

keyword

:

a searchable word in an online record or text that allows you to locate materials

17.

librarian

:

the professional who answers questions in the library

18.

non-fiction

:

true stories, facts

19.

publisher

:

the company that prints and distributes the book

20.

Reference

:

section in the library for encyclopedias, dictionaries, altases, etc

21.

search box

:

tool for finding information on a web site by typing in keywords

22.

Spine

:

the back edge of the book that is visible when on the shelf

23.

Table of contents

:

Lists the title and page number of all the chapters in a book.

24.

URL

:

web address

25.

website

:

free online source authored by anyone

Other Languages

Test Your Skills

ESL Library Lesson

Public Library signage on a pediment

by www.elcivics.com

The library is an important place in the community. People go to the library to read books and magazines, use a computer, and to study. Many libraries have a special section for wireless laptop computers. Some libraries have conference rooms. In the United States, National Library Week is April 13-19, 2014.

Check out this short lesson on Libraries in the United States.