Research Guides: Bullying/Cyberbulling: Find Articles

Finding Articles - The Basics

If you're new to searching, or just want to do a quick search for information on a topic, try using our " All-in-One" search option located under our on our homepage.

Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to limit, widen, or define your search.

NY Times Articles

Bullying- Rowan-Cabarrus Journal Articles

Bullycide Articles
Bullycide is a suicide directly related to being bullied.
Cyberbullying: An Unceasing Threat in Today's Digitalized World
College Student Cyberbullying: Self-Esteem, Depression, Loneliness, and Attachment.
Why do children and adolescents bully their peers? A critical review of key theoretical framework
Continued Bullying Victimization from Childhood to Young Adulthood: a Longitudinal Study of Mediating and Protective Factors

Related Research Guides

Starting Point for Research

Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Bullying Results

Search other Rowan-Cabbarus Databases

Search other sites

Databases

CQ Researcher
A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Consumer Health Database
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry
Global Breaking Newswires
Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
New York Times
Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).
Newsbank-America’s News
America’s News: 2021 Edition features national, regional, and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on any issue, person, or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available. Newspaper database.
Psychology Database
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Sociology Database
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

Basic Search Tips

Unlike Google, library databases can't understand an entire sentence. So you'll need to break your topic down into the most important ideas - the KEYWORDS.

The keywords you use can have a profound impact on the results of your research. Using the “right” words will speed up the research process, while the “wrong” words can bring to it to a halt.

Example Topic: Women in the Military

Keywords: women and military; military and minorities and women;

Most words have synonyms that mean the same, or very similar, things. For each keyword in your topic, try to come up with at least one synonym. Not all keywords will have synonyms, but many do!

Example:

Keyword: Synonym:

Online dictionaries and thesauruses are very helpful for finding synonyms that you may not come up with yourself.

Most library databases have search tools built in. Try some of these:

Subject: Think of subjects as official hashtags. Use them to find sources about that subject.
Date Range: Limit your search to sources published between specific years.
Peer Reviewed: Limit your search to scholarly journal articles.
Full Text: Make sure all of the results are available to read in full.

You can evaluate any source using the 5 W's:

Who: ...wrote it? Are they an expert?
What: ...is the purpose of this resource?
Where: ...was this information published? ...does the information come from?
When: ...was this published or last updated?
Why: ...is this resource useful? ...is this resource better than other ones?

Too many results try

Using the operator AND to find only sources that mention both keywords.

Example:

This search will bring back fewer results than searching either keyword on its own.

Too few results

Use the “QUOTES” strategy to search for several words in a phrase, a specific person, and events.

" Construction Safety"

This will bring back results that only use that exact phrase

Reference Librarian

Charles Gobble

ELibrary

ELibrary Cyberbullying

ELibrary- Bullying

Suicide

Proquest SIRS Knowledge Base - Suicide
An estimated one million people commit suicide every year worldwide. Suicide is a leading cause of death among teenagers and people older than 35. Recent research into the cause of suicide seems to indicate that feelings of hopelessness are more of a predictor of suicidal behavior than depression.

Bullying/Cyberbulling: Find Articles

New All-in-One Search