It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychologists explore the reality of cyberbullies Millions of children are affected by bullies each year.Advances in social media, email, instant messaging, and cellphones, however, have moved bullying from a schoolyard fear to a constant threat.
Weber and Pelfrey examine qualitative and quantitative data collected from middle and high school students in a large urban area regarding the use of social technologies in cyberbullying perpetration and victimization. They further explore the interconnectedness between the online and face-to-face environments created by these advancements in technology which may produce risk taking behaviors and school safety issues. \
E-books on Bullying
Click on the titles below to access.
Bullying Interventions in Schools by Ken Rigby
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Dealing effectively with the problem of bullying in schools is now recognised as a major challenge for educators of young people.
Bullying is the deliberate desire by one or more people to hurt, threaten or frighten someone with words, behaviour or actions. Bullying can be verbal, physical, social or psychological and is one of the major issues facing young people today.
This book, featuring acclaimed research articles on cyber, childhood, and workplace bullying from the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, provides comprehensive coverage of bullying from expert researchers in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, sociology, criminology, counseling, and social work.
High profile media reports of young people committing suicide after experiencing bullying have propelled a national conversation about the nature and scope of this problem and the means to address it. Specialists have long known that involvement in bullying in any capacity (as the victim or as the perpetrator) is The volume provides sound, scientifically grounded, and effective advice about bullying and suicide at every level: national, state, and community.
Why are some kids magnets for bullying?* Why do gay teens commit suicide four times as frequently as "straight" teens?* Why do we have more men and women in prison than any other country in the world?* Why are school shootings and acts of domestic terrorism on the rise?
The Library offers several eBook databases, however the quickest way to access all of the eBooks provided by the Library is to perform a search in our All-in-One Search tool.
1. Click on the eBooks tab and enter your search terms into the All-in-One Search box:
2. If desired, filter the list of eBooks by publication date, date range, or subject:
"The importance of Boske and Osanloo's approach to identifying the crisis of bullying in our society lives within the personal stories shared in this book. Readers are reminded that victims of bullying are our own friends, neighbors and classmates, and those at every level in the community are challenged to be part of the solution. . Students, Teachers, and Leaders Addressing Bullying in Schools captures the tragedy victims face and the urgency of creating a new dialogue amongst our educators." --Judy Shepard, Founder, Matthew Shepard Foundation
Bullying occurs at every age and in many different environments, but it is an all-too-ordinary childhood event. At least one out of every five students has reported being bullied at school. The behavior involves key characteristics: repeated, aggressive, and unwelcome actions towards another, and an imbalance of power between the attacker and the victim. Helping the bully change is also part of many successful anti-bullying strategies.
An explosion of research on bullying has raised our collective awareness of the serious impacts it can have on children. No longer do we accept it as an innocuous rite of passage, just a part of growing up that we grin and bear and grow out of later. But do we grow out of it, or are there lingering effects that last well beyond the school playgrounds and lunchrooms? Is bullying traumatic and, if so, does it last into adult life?
This book gives in-depth insights into the core issues of workplace bullying from the perspectives of the individuals involved, their interpersonal relationships, the group dynamics and organisational contexts. Workplace bullying is costly: increasingly petty conflicts are being registered as formal complaints and, in no time, legalities take over and costs spiral out of control. Preventive actions and interventions need to be based on a sound knowledge of the deeper issues that foster bullying scenarios.
Provides a wealth of proven anti-bullying resources for all nursing settings This pocket-sized, quick-access guide gives nurses crucial information they need to know to understand, identify, and effectively counter incivility, bullying, and violence in all nursing settings.
Ask a Librarian
Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!
Some of our eBook collections will allow you to check out an eBook for use on your mobile device (such as a Kindle) while others will allow online viewing only.
ABC-CLIO E-book CollectionHistory & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo ReferenceA premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
eBook CentralScholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Home Grown eBooks CollectionA collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooksCollection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Very Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.