Careers in Chemistry - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

List of Careers in Chemistry Chemists study the properties of matter, preparing test materials to study how chemicals combine.
Chemists

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Chemists and Materials Scientists Chemists and materials scientists study substances at the atomic and molecular levels and analyze the ways in which the substances interact with one another. They use their knowledge to develop new and improved products and to test the quality of manufactured goods.

O*Net

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Chemical Engineers Design chemical plant equipment and devise processes for manufacturing chemicals and products, such as gasoline, synthetic rubber, plastics, detergents, cement, paper, and pulp, by applying principles and technology of chemistry, physics, and engineering.
Chemical Technicians Conduct chemical and physical laboratory tests to assist scientists in making qualitative and quantitative analyses of solids, liquids, and gaseous materials for research and development of new products or processes, quality control, maintenance of environmental standards, and other work involving experimental, theoretical, or practical application of chemistry and related sciences.
Chemistry Teachers, Postsecondary Teach courses pertaining to the chemical and physical properties and compositional changes of substances. Work may include providing instruction in the methods of qualitative and quantitative chemical analysis. Includes both teachers primarily engaged in teaching, and those who do a combination of teaching and research.
Chemists Conduct qualitative and quantitative chemical analyses or experiments in laboratories for quality or process control or to develop new products or knowledge.

Resumes and Cover Letter Resources

Find Books on Resumes and Cover Letters
Click here to see a listing of print books on resume writing.
R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Career Videos

Chemist—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be a chemist? In this Career Q&A video interview, Bill Tuszynski talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success in chemistry. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Careers in Chemistry eBooks

A Day at Work with a Chemist by Rosalie Gaddi
ISBN: 9781508144052
Publication Date: 2015-12-30
This book gives readers a close look at what it's like to work as a chemist. Readers will come to understand STEM concepts through a career focus as they learn about how chemists use science, technology, engineering, and math every day. This book covers chemistry basics, while explaining the different tools chemists use. Readers can also explore several careers in chemistry and learn how to land one. Accessible and engaging text is paired with color photographs to help readers grasp the topic. Fun fact boxes and a graphic organizer provide additional information. This look into the lab is a great addition to both science and career instruction.
Careers in Chemistry by Donald R. Franceschetti; Salem Press Editors
ISBN: 9781587659935
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
It is estimated that the United States will have over 1 million job openings in STEM-related (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields and occupations by 2018. Salem's new series explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields, emphasising STEM occupations and outlooks and green technologies where applicable.
Building Your Best Chemistry Career Volume 1 by Mark A. Benvenuto (Editor)
ISBN: 9780841237988
Publication Date: 2021-08-13
Jumpstart your academic career... Obtaining a degree is the first step of many building blocks that will form your career. In this volume, authors provide engaging and informative perspectives on success in academia and government. Success stories discuss key lessons learned by chemists who have successfully created their own career, including resiliency, networking, leadership, and career advancement. This book is a valuable resource for first-time job seekers in chemical sciences and newly hired Ph.D. graduates, as well as new faculty and graduate advisors.