Careers in Fire Protection - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Firefighters Firefighters protect people's lives and property from the hazards of fire and other emergencies. They provide this protection by fighting fires to prevent property damage and by rescuing people trapped or injured by fires or other accidents. Through inspections and safety education, firefighters also work to prevent fires and unsafe conditions that could result in dangerous, life-threatening situations.
Fire Inspectors Fire inspectors conduct examinations to enforce fire-prevention laws, ordinances, and codes; promote the development and use of effective fire-prevention methods; and provide instruction to the fire department and the general public regarding fire codes and prevention.
Fire Investigators Fire investigators analyze the cause, origin, and circumstances of fires involving loss of life and considerable property damage; interrogate witnesses and prepare investigation reports; and arrest and seek prosecution of arsonists. They also investigate explosions.
Fire Protection Engineers Fire protection engineers use scientific and engineering principles to design fire prevention systems that protect people and structures from fire. They also inspect fire protection systems to ensure that they meet government safety regulations. Fire protection engineers are also known as fire prevention and protection engineers.
Fire Safety Directors Many cities have laws that require a fire safety director to be on duty at skyscrapers, large residential buildings, and public buildings such as museums and hospitals to ensure that fire safety systems are in place and are working correctly.
Fire Safety Technicians Fire safety technicians work to prevent fires. Typical services they perform include conducting safety inspections and planning fire protection systems. In the course of their job, fire safety technicians recognize fire hazards, apply technical knowledge, and perform services to control and prevent fires.

O-NET OnLine

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Fire-Prevention and Protection Engineers Research causes of fires, determine fire protection methods, and design or recommend materials or equipment such as structural components or fire-detection equipment to assist organizations in safeguarding life and property against fire, explosion, and related hazards.
Fire Inspectors and Investigators Inspect buildings to detect fire hazards and enforce local ordinances and state laws, or investigate and gather facts to determine cause of fires and explosions.
Forest Fire Inspectors and Prevention Specialists Enforce fire regulations, inspect forest for fire hazards, and recommend forest fire prevention or control measures. May report forest fires and weather conditions.

Resume Assistance

R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Firefighters Firefighters control and put out fires and respond to emergencies involving life, property, or the environment.
Fire Inspectors Fire inspectors examine buildings in order to detect fire hazards and ensure that federal, state, and local fire codes are met.

Career Videos

Firefighter—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be a Firefighter? In this Career Q&A video interview, Richard Symns talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success fighting fires. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Fire Safety Director—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be a Fire Safety Director? In this Career Q&A video interview, Robert Lanham talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success as a fire safety director. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry: Careers in Fire Protection

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

O-NET OnLine

Resume Assistance

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Career Videos