Careers in Medical Office - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Medical Secretaries Medical secretaries perform administrative and clerical work in medical offices, hospitals, or private physicians' offices. They answer phone calls, order supplies, handle correspondence, bill patients, complete insurance forms, and transcribe dictation. Medical secretaries also handle bookkeeping, greet patients, schedule appointments, arrange hospital admissions, and schedule surgeries.
Medical Record Technicians Medical record technicians, also known as medical records and health information technicians and health information management technicians, compile, code, and maintain these records. They also tabulate and analyze data from groups of records in order to assemble reports. They review records for completeness and accuracy; assign codes to the diseases, operations, diagnoses, and treatments according to detailed standardized classification systems; and post the codes on the medical record. They transcribe medical reports; maintain indices of patients, diseases, operations, and other categories of information; compile patient census data; and file records. In addition, they may direct the day-to-day operations of the medical records department.
Health Care Managers Health care managers, also known as health services managers and health services administrators, direct the operation of hospitals, nursing homes, and other health care organizations. They are responsible for facilities, services, programs, staff, budgets, and relations with other organizations. There are approximately 406,100 health care managers employed in the United States.

O-NET OnLine

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Medical Secretaries and Administrative Assistants Perform secretarial duties using specific knowledge of medical terminology and hospital, clinic, or laboratory procedures. Duties may include scheduling appointments, billing patients, and compiling and recording medical charts, reports, and correspondence.
Medical Records Specialists Compile, process, and maintain medical records of hospital and clinic patients in a manner consistent with medical, administrative, ethical, legal, and regulatory requirements of the healthcare system. Classify medical and healthcare concepts, including diagnosis, procedures, medical services, and equipment, into the healthcare industry's numerical coding system. Includes medical coders.
Medical and Health Services Managers Plan, direct, or coordinate medical and health services in hospitals, clinics, managed care organizations, public health agencies, or similar organizations.

Resume Assistance

R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Medical Records Specialists Medical records specialists compile, process, and maintain patient files. They also may classify and enter patients’ medical information into the healthcare industry's numerical coding system.
Medical and Health Services Managers Medical and health services managers, also called healthcare executives or healthcare administrators, plan, direct, and coordinate medical and health services. They may manage an entire facility, a specific clinical area or department, or a medical practice for a group of physicians. Medical and health services managers must adapt to changes in healthcare laws, regulations, and technology.

Career Videos

Medical Secretaries—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be a medical secretary? In this Career Q&A video interview, Steven Cavender talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success in coordinating health care operations. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Coding and Documentation Specialist, ProHealth

"Wendy is a Medical Coding Specialist and a Clinical Documentation Improvement Specialist with the health information company, Pro Health. Coming from a previous career in a clinical setting, Wendy now has the freedom to work from home in a rewarding career."

ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry: Careers in Medical Office

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

O-NET OnLine

Resume Assistance

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Career Videos