Careers in Psychology - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

APA Education and Career Information

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

O*Net

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Here is an example of a reference and in-text citation for the O*Net

U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration. (2019, February 26). Librarians. O*NET OnLine. https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/25-4021.00

In-text is:

(U.S. Department of Labor, 2019)

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.

Effective Study Skills Description: Students learn how to achieve academic success by learning the study behaviors that lead to high achievement. This video illustrates the importance of developing good skills in the areas of listening, notetaking, and outlining. Emphasis is placed on preparing for classes, paying attention, and developing a positive attitude. Bad academic behaviors are illustrated by one of the worst students in history. Specific suggestions, tips, and techniques are presented to overcome bad habits. The second section shows students how to utilize time at home efficiently, how to set priorities, how to decide which subjects to study first, how long to study each subject, and how to get the most from their texts. A Cambridge Educational Production. One 30-minute video
This Way to an A: Effective Study Skills Why do we have to learn this? When will I ever use this information once I get out of school? When students acquire the ability to answer these questions for themselves, they develop an improved understanding of their subjects along with the ability to identify and retain pertinent information. This upbeat video teaches students the Empty "V" System which stresses the importance and effectiveness of deciding the purpose of each lesson in order to better understand key information. Students learn proven techniques for studying, reviewing, and retaining information that fit into any lifestyle or class structure. Reading and taking notes becomes easier, more effective, and less time-consuming as students learn how to find key facts and ideas. Study sessions become more efficient as students learn tips for condensing information into memorable formats and the effectiveness of frequently referring to the condensed versions. This important lesson entertains busy, lazy, eager, and reluctant students as they learn to apply the skills that last a lifetime. A Cambridge Educational Production. One 30-minute video and how-to-study book.
Strategic Learning This program outlines a concise three-step process for understanding and retaining information. The steps include exposure, review, and practice. Class attendance is stressed for maximum exposure to material. Valuable advice is provided on how to distill weekly lecture notes into a meaningful study guide. Methods for retrieving information learned include recitation and group study. (10 minutes)
This Is a Test...This Is Only a Test: Test-Taking Techniques For many students, the mere thought of taking a test sends adrenaline running throughout their bodies, brings perspiration to their brows, and causes them to suddenly forget everything they have learned. This humorous and informative video teaches students the art of stress-free test-taking. Students learn how to put test-taking into its proper perspective and realize that although tests are important, they are simply a way to measure one’s knowledge of a subject. This is a Test stresses that no gimmick or shortcut can take the place of knowledge and teaches tips for reviewing and retaining information with easy-to-implement, effective study techniques. Students learn how test scores and anxiety levels are affected by preparing, organizing, cramming, and anticipating. Students discover the most effective ways to approach common test formats (multiple choice, standardized, matching, true/false, and essay), the importance of reading questions carefully, and the benefits of preparing themselves physically as well as mentally. A Cambridge Educational Production. One 30-minute video and how-to-study book

NCCareers

NCCareers
NCcareers.org aims to be North Carolina’s central online resource for students, parents, educators, job seekers and career counselors looking for high quality job and career information.

Books about Careers in Psychology

Careers in Psychology by Tara L. Kuther; Robert D. Morgan
Call Number: BF 76 .K88 2007 North and South
ISBN: 9780495090786
Publication Date: 2006-05-09
Are you considering a degree in psychology? CAREERS IN PSYCHOLOGY gives you exposure to careers in each of the areas of psychology and prompts you to explore whether or not a major and career in psychology is a good fit for you.
College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs by Neeta P. Fogg; Paul E. Harrington; Thomas F. Harrington; Laurence Shatkin
Call Number: HF 5382.5 .U5 F644 2012 South
ISBN: 9781593577711
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
This is the only book that provides information on the actual jobs and earning of college graduates in 50 majors.
Opportunities in Psychology Careers by Donald E. Super
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780071545303
Publication Date: 2008-10-10
Each book offers: The latest information on a field ofinterest Training and educationalrequirements for each career Salary statistics for different positionswithin each field Up-to-date professional and Internetresources
Careers in Mental Health by Kim Metz
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781119221111
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Accessible and unbiased, Careers in Mental Health introduces upper-level high school students and beginning undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions.
Majoring in Psychology by Jeffrey L. Helms; Daniel T. Rogers
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781118741009
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Updated to reflect the latest data in the field, the second edition of Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals remains the most comprehensive and accessible text for psychology majors available today.

Proquest Career and Tech Center

Career & Technical Education
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry: Careers in Psychology