World War 1 Resources - HIS 132 - American History II - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Databases to Find Information about WW1

From The Atlantic https://www.theatlantic.com/projects/world-war-i-in-photos/

Infobase American History
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Daily Life through History
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.

Primary Documents about The Great War

Treaty of Versailles 1919
Negotiated at the Paris Peace Conference throughout the spring of 1919, the Treaty of Versailles formally brought World War I to an end. Its lengthy and complicated provisions placed severe penalties on Germany, forcing the country to assume blame for starting the war in the first place. Although U.S. President Woodrow Wilson had been an active participant in the conference and enthusiastically supported the treaty and the League of Nations it created, the U.S. Senate felt differently and after fierce debate, voted down ratification. Instead, the United States made a separate peace with Germany and its allies.
Woodrow Wilson: Fourteen Points speech (1918)
On January 8, 1918, President Woodrow Wilson explained to a special joint session of Congress his dream of maintaining world peace after the end of World War I in 14 points.
Plans for a Liberty Bond Parade during the 1918 Flu Pandemic
The fall of 1918 was one of the deadliest periods in US history at home and abroad. As World War I raged across the Atlantic in late August 1918, a lethal strain of influenza landed in Boston and spread throughout the rest of America through early November. Despite being overwhelmed by the sick, dying, and unburied dead, Philadelphia continued its Liberty Loan drive through the first three weeks of October, determined that the birthplace of American liberty surpass all others in bond sales.

The United States Enters World War I

World War 1 The War in Europe
30 minute video about WW1 from Films on Demand.

Keywords to Find Information about World War 1

"World War 1" AND "United States"

"World War 1" AND "United States" AND 1917

"Woodrow Wilson" AND "World War 1"

"Woodrow Wilson" AND "World War 1" AND 1917

Ebooks, Ebook Chapters, Reference Entries about WW1

World War I by Peter I. Bosco;; John S. Bowman (Editor) A century of material progress and growing prosperity led the nations of Western Europe to believe that they were in the vanguard of a new and peaceful world order. But their economic rivalries, backed by growing military establishments, finally degenerated to an extreme level of barbarity. World War I rocked the political balance of Europe, interrupted its economic growth, and decimated a generation of its youth. It began the disintegration of the colonial system that had seemed so permanent in 1914 and launched communism as a world force.World War I, Fourth Edition provides a concise, highly readable portrait of this great conflict, with an emphasis on the critical role played by the United States. Complete with full-color and black-and-white photographs and illustrations, full-color maps, and other further resources, World War I, Fourth Edition is suited for middle and high school students seeking unbiased information about U.S. military history.
ISBN: 9781438143347
Publication Date: 2016-09-01

Excellent source for information about WW1, including a chapter about the United States entering the War titled America Enters World War I.

The Great War: America's Conflicted Role on the World Stage
Chapter from Primary Sources in American History: The Gilded Age, Progressive Era, and World War I, 1877-1920
By: Jeffery B. Cook
Published: 2018
World War 1
From: Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, Second Edition
By: Glenn Hastedt
Published: 2016 [Last updated: 2018]

World War I by Tara L. Mann The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand is often cited as the event that triggered World War I, the massive global conflict that ensued shortly after his death. However, the First World War is more accurately described as a culmination of political tension that had been building across various European nations for decades. This comprehensive volume considers the political and diplomatic underpinnings of "the war to end all wars," from its buildup to its conclusion and into the interwar era. The major events of the war and currents of thought that shaped prewar and postwar international relations are examined in depth.
ISBN: 9781680483598
Publication Date: 2016-07-15

THE UNITED STATES IN WORLD WAR I, 1917-18
Chapter from Book (MLA citation)
Hagan, K. J., & Bickerton, I. J. (2007). Six: The United States In World War I, 1917-18. London: Reaktion Books Ltd. Retrieved from http://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/books/six-united-states-world-war-i-1917-18/docview/906100233/se-2?accountid=13601
Daily Life Through History -- WW1
Information about daily life during the 1910s, including history, education, family life, etc.

Great War by PBS on Films on Demand

Great War by PBS on Films on Demand
The Great War tells the rich and complex story of World War I through the voices of nurses, journalists, aviators and the American troops who came to be known as "doughboys." The series explores the experiences of African-American and Latino soldiers, suffragists, Native American "code talkers" and others whose participation in the war to "make the world safe for democracy" has been largely forgotten. The Great War explores how a brilliant PR man bolstered support for the war; how President Woodrow Wilson steered the nation through years of neutrality, only to reluctantly lead America into the bloodiest conflict the world had ever seen, transforming the United States into a dominant player on the international stage; and how the ardent patriotism and determination to support America's crusade for liberty abroad led to one of the most oppressive crackdowns on civil liberties at home in U.S. history. It is a story of heroism and sacrifice that would ultimately claim 15 million lives and profoundly change the world forever.

WW1 Resources from the Internet

Search the National Archives for collections of documents that are important to American History.

Historic Newspapers - Enhanced access to America's historic newspapers through the Chronicling America project.
Historic Sound Recordings - The National Jukebox features over 10,000 78rpm disc sides
Prints and Photographs - Catalog of about half of the Library's pictorial holdings with over 1 million digital images.
Veterans History Project - Experience first-person stories of wartime service through personal artifacts, audio and video interviews.

British Pathe
About British Pathé – Who We Are
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 34,090,282 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Euro Docs
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations

HIS 132 - American History II: World War 1 Resources

New All-in-One Search