Archive Services ensures that materials with historical or enduring value are available for research and reference. We collect materials that document the history, organization, policies, operations, mission, goals, and experiences of the college community.
The department also provides a Repository for storage of inactive documents that haven't met their retention requirements.
Please keep the Archives in mind when distributing announcements, programs, invitations, posters, meeting minutes, and even memorabilia. Send a copy or two to the Archives! We'd love to enhance our collections and fully document the history of Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.
Permanent storage for historical materials
Types of material we collect include:
Interested in donating to the archives? Click here to find out more.
Accessing the Material
Disposing of Archival Material
Temporary storage for inactive records
Material eligible for storage in the repository includes:
For example, instructor's attendance lists should be kept for 3 years and then destroyed.
For example, the NC Board of Cosmetic Arts requires some records to be kept for 5 years.
Interested in storing material in the repository? Click here to find more information.
Accessing Repository Records
Find inventories of repository collections online here.
Requests for access will be referred to the department.
Disposing of Repository Records
Due to privacy laws, neither the Archive nor Repository can collect education records (especially grades), or personnel records.
Items taken in must be related to RCCC. Items relating to general North Carolina or Rowan or Cabarrus County history are not typically accepted, but archives staff can assist you in finding a home for these materials.
Items that pose a risk to existing collections, such as items with active mold, cannot be accepted.
Policies for the Archive and Repository are guided by RCCC's Archive Services procedure and the Records Retention and Disposition Schedule for Colleges in the North Carolina Community College System