Thank you for your interest in donating to the RCCC Archives!
Please review the information below to learn more about the types of material we accept and the process for making a donation.
Archive Services collects records that are created or received by the offices of the College in the conduct of their business as well as materials that provide contextual information about the history of Rowan-Cabarrus. Archive Services collects only records that are no longer actively used and are deemed to be of permanent value. Materials appropriate for the archives include, but are not limited to:
● Legal or constituting documents (e.g., charters, constitutions, by-laws), minutes, reports and supporting documentation, memoranda, correspondence and policy statements of the Board of Trustees, Rowan-Cabarrus Presidents and Vice Presidents, deans, directors, and significant academic and administrative committees
● Records of other offices and units, including (but not limited to): College Environment, Corporate & Continuing Education, Information Services, Student Success, Academic Programs, Library, etc.
● Reports of self-studies and accreditation visits
● Annual reports, budgets, and audits
● Reports of the public information, community relations, planning and research, and institutional advancement offices
● Research projects, including grant records
● Records of the registrar, i.e., calendars and class schedules, enrollment records and other regularly issued reports
● Records of academic, service, and social organizations of students, alumni, faculty, and staff
● Selected faculty papers, if the individual had a substantial administrative role, college interest, or significant college impact that is reflected in the papers
● Rowan-Cabarrus publications, including Student, Administrative, and Scholarly publications
● Photographs, films, and audio recordings of Rowan-Cabarrus students, faculty, staff, administrators, events and facilities
● Oral history interviews and transcripts
● Maps, blueprints, and plans of the campuses and buildings
● Some artifacts, as space in the archives and condition of the object permits
● Rowan-Cabarrus public relations materials
● Written histories highlighting the history of Rowan-Cabarrus
Archive Services does not acquire records that do not document the administrative functions of the College. These might include:
● Handbooks or manuals for equipment
● Non-Rowan-Cabarrus publications
● Rare books and rare manuscripts
● Research materials related to an individual faculty member's work
● The history of the surrounding community unrelated to Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
● Personal correspondence or family papers
Ready to Donate?
Please fill out the Donation Interest Form as best you can, and archives staff will be in touch regarding your donation.
Need help? Contact archives@rccc.edu with any questions.
