Click on the image to view full-size.
Click on the image to view full-size.
Click on the image to view full-size.
Click on the image to view full-size.
Click on the image to view full-size.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This image, taken from Kannapolis: A Pictorial History shows the G.W. Carver marching band. The school served 1st-12th grade and it appears that even the younger students could participate in band.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This image, taken from Kannapolis: A Pictorial History shows the G.W. Carver graduating class of 1957. The school served 1st-12th grade and the image appears to include young students graduating from kindergarten or elementary school as well as graduating seniors.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Carolinian discusses integration of the North Carolina schools and the challenges faced by black teachers at the Shankletown School.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This image, taken from Kannapolis: A Pictorial History shows the G.W. Carver School in 1975.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from the Charlotte Observer describes the Cabarrus Advisory Council's search for land to build a Cabarrus campus.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from Piedmont News describes the territorial dispute for Cabarrus County between Stanly and Rowan Technical College. The article includes quotes from Cabarrus County Commissioner Harold Nash. The dispute was ultimately settled in Rowan's favor.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Charlotte Observer discusses the territorial dispute between Rowan and Stanly Technical Colleges in the early 1980s. The dispute was ultimately settled in Rowan's favor.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This excerpt from the Annual Report described the use of the Corban and Carver Centers to provide services to Cabarrus County.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Daily Independent describes the efforts of the Cabarrus Advisory Council to raise funds and select a site for a second campus. At this time, the Council also asked the the Board of Trustees to consider changing the name of the college to include Cabarrus County and to "establish appropriate Cabarrus representation on the Board."
Click on the image to view full-size.
This excerpt from the Annual Report described the strategic importance of Cabarrus County, planning efforts for a satellite campus, and the change from Rowan Technical College to Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Daily Independent describes the construction and groundbreaking celebration held for RCCC's South Campus.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Daily Independent shows images from the construction of South Campus and describes the facility.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This clipping includes an image of the construction on South Campus.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This clipping from The Salisbury Post shows image of the newly completed South Campus and its computer lab.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Daily Independent discusses the construction and opening of South Campus.
Click on the image to view full-size.
This article from The Concord Tribune addresses Cabarrus County Schools' need to use the Clara Harris School for a pre-school Headstart program. As a result, RCCC had to vacate the space.
Click on the image to view full-size.
Sketches by Aubrey Atkinson, this content is taken from the compilation Sketches of Old Rowan, held in the Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Archive Services. Each sketch is accompanied by an essay, written by George Raynor; the content is the reproduction of a series of illustrated articles which have appeared from time to time in the Salisbury Sunday Post. This series was compiled by the American Association of University Women, Salisbury Branch, in 1960. The captions for each photograph are taken directly from the essays that accompany them.
"The first gold in the Gold Hill section was discovered at what became known as the Barringer lode in 1825. It was a placer operation. The first really rich vein was the Barnhardt vein. This shaft is still visible from the road. . . The last attempt to open the mines was made in 1952-53 when the deep Randolph shaft was de-watered. Something went wrong though and today water, not busy miners, again inhabits the old shafts."
"The Lowerstone and Organ churches without question rank among the most interesting church structures in North Carolina. Closely resembling each other in design and material, the church buildings were completed within a year of each other, and are close neighbors in Gold Hill township. Persons of Germanic descent constitute the bulk of the membership of both the Lutheran and the Reformed denominations in this section. Another similarity is that both of these churches are among the oldest--and likely the oldest--of their denominations in the state."
"The Strachan house occupies a generous, tree-shaded lot on the corner of West Bank and South Jackson Streets. . . It is an old house, one of the city's oldest. It apparently was built around 1820, and was erected to serve as the female boarding school of the noted old Salisbury Academy. It was only used for a few years before it was converted into a home." Today, the house is called the Hall House.
"Piedmont farm homes tended to keep to simple, utilitarian lines and to shun the ostentatious and ornate. This is Mount Vernon. Except for its oversized, forked chimney--which served the very practical purpose of keeping the occupants warm--architectural tricks are few. But the house, because of the honesty of its builder, the beauty of its location and the loving attention bestowed on it by its owners is one of Rowan's most striking."
"Restoration of the old Setzer School, a one-room log school building of pre-Civil War vintage, permits visitors a vivid glimpse of what early schooling was like. The school, which served South Rowan school children for decades, was relocated at the Knox Junior High School in Salisbury. The school has been refurnished with authentic replicas and original pieces of equipment and books."
"The Presbyterians, who had settled along Grants Creek, were quick to set up a congregation. This was the present Thyatira Presbyterian Church at Mill Bridge. It was first known as Cathey's Meeting House because no religious body was then allowed to call itself a church except the Church of England." The church was founded in 1753, before the American Revolution.
"It was built by a German immigrant, Michael Braun in the 18th century, and his descendants--the Browns, the Fishers and many others--are numbered in the hundreds in Rowan today. . . Braun built the house in a Germanic and Pennsylvania tradition--with stone. He used the native Rowan granite which has the admirable virtue of being about the hardest granite in the world and the unhappy characteristic of also being about the hardest to cut and shape."
"Wheat flour--the eternal staff of life--comes wrapped in dainty pillow cases today. It wasn't always so. In the do-it-yourself-or-it-did-not-get-done days, flour was toted home from a grist mill in a bushel or a barrel, not a handy two-pound or thrift 10-pound sack. It often was an all-day chore to get a season's supply of flour or corn meal."
"A brilliant Englishman, who dug a fortune from the quarries and mines of the Piedmont more than a half century ago, left behind the most impressive granite monument in Rowan County. Owned successively by the wealthy Hambley, Norwood and Wallace families, the mansion in the 500 block of South Fulton Street has been known to stop passersby in their tracks because of its awesome size and commanding appearance."
"The first timbers were probably raised for the house around 1821 by John Fulton, a leading citizen after whom the street was later named. . . The ante-bellum look is actually a post-bellum addition. But the house came into the Southern tradition look honestly for it is one of the city's oldest."
"Hardly high enough to warrant description as a mountain, it is less than impressive when seen from the road. But when the new visitor has huffed his way up steep grades and rough trails to the top, he can see why it is called a mountain. . . The mountain serves as a memorial to a Rowan pioneer, John Dunn, a native of Ireland, a pioneer, lawyer, and probably the first owner of the property." The above picture is a scan provided by the Rowan Public Library, as the sketch paired with this essay in Rowan-Cabarrus's Archive Services is the wrong sketch.
"The house [William Murdoch] built in 1866 stands sturdier than any oak at the corner of West Bank and South Church Streets. It is owned by his descendants [written in 1960]. . . Murdoch's daughter, Miriam, married Samuel H. Wiley, and the Wileys made the old house their home. Murdoch's grandson, Samuel Henderson Wiley, was the father of Mrs. Kizziah [wife of local historian]." The house sits at 203 W Bank St, Salisbury.
"The Rowan granite industry is an old one. . . The most famous stone from Rowan is that produced in one of the older pits just east of Granite Quarry and known for decades as Balfour Pink."
"Local historian W. D. Kizziah believes the existing building [located on the library lawn] was erected by the first Archibald Henderson after he bought tract 19 from Judge McCay in 1796. . . The property passed from the Henderson family to the Boyden family as a result of the union of Nathaniel Boyden and a daughter of Archibald Henderson. Also a lawyer, Boyden used it as his law office until his death in 1877."
"An old house on South Jackson Street was almost perfect for a museum because it was a museum piece itself. The house was built in 1819 for Judge James Martin, judge of Superior Court. In 1847, it was sold to Maxwell Chambers, who never lived in it; nevertheless, it was known as the Maxwell Chambers house until it became the Rowan Museum in 1955." In 1979, the Rowan Museum was moved out of the Maxwell Chambers house.
"The old courthouse, known as the Community Building since the present courthouse was built in 1913, has had a useful span of service in the 116 years [written in 1960] since it was erected at the corner of Main and Council streets."
To find digitized material in our Archives database, follow the steps below:
1. Open the Archives Database
2. Enter your search term or leave the box blank to view all digital material
3. Narrow the search by selecting 'Limit to digital materials' in the drop-down
4. Choose the item you're interested in from the results.
5. Click on the icon at the top of the page.
6. Click on the title you are interested in viewing. Some items include more than one photo or document. The results will tell you if it is a color or black-and-white (BW) photo and typically provide a short description. Once you click on one of the titles, you can use the arrow keys to scroll through the rest of the photos.
7. Contact archives@rccc.edu with any questions or to see these items in person!