Research Guides: Archive Services: Research

Finding Digital Material

To find digitized material in our Archives database, follow the steps below:

2. Enter your search term or leave the box blank to view all digital material

3. Narrow the search by selecting 'Limit to digital materials' in the drop-down

4. Choose the item you're interested in from the results.

5. Click on the icon at the top of the page.

6. Click on the title you are interested in viewing. Some items include more than one photo or document. The results will tell you if it is a color or black-and-white (BW) photo and typically provide a short description. Once you click on one of the titles, you can use the arrow keys to scroll through the rest of the photos.

7. Contact archives@rccc.edu with any questions or to see these items in person!

Guidelines for Use

All archive materials are library use only. They may not be checked out or sent through interlibrary loan. Archives staff may be able to provide copies or reproductions on a case-by-case basis.
Researchers are not permitted to browse the archives. All materials will be retrieved by archives staff. Patrons should not enter the archives unless accompanied by archives or other library staff, and must be supervised while using archival material.
The Archive is open by appointment during the library's regular hours. Please request items 48 hours in advance whenever possible by submitting this form.
No food or drink is allowed in the Archive. Patrons will be asked to put sealed items in their bags or leave them in a designated area.
Only pencils may be used in the Archive. Take care not to write on top of archival materials.
Researchers are responsible for the safeguarding of materials while in use. Absolutely no augmentation to materials is allowed, including writing on, taping, folding, defacing, cutting, and any other action that changes the condition of the material.
Researchers must leave all coats and bags in a designated space.
Researchers may take photos with their phones; photocopying is permitted with the help of archives staff.
While the Archive is the legal custodian of these materials, we may not hold the copyright. Researchers are responsible for copyright compliance when citing or reproducing archival material.
First-time researchers must register and sign that they have read and understood these guidelines. Returning visitors will sign in and out and note which material they used.
Users may be required to wear gloves to protect delicate materials
Some material including VHS tapes, cassettes, and other formats are not accessible at this time.

Resources from other Archives

DigitalNC works with North Carolina cultural heritage organizations (libraries, museums, historic sites, etc) to scan, describe, and publish historical materials online. They have a large collection of newspapers and yearbooks, along with a wide variety of other material.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Those records are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you. Researchers can explore military history, political history, photographs, microfilm, teaching tools, and other materials related to the history of the United States.

Presidential Libraries Podcast

Listen to the voices of the Presidents! In these historical clips you'll hear Presidents Roosevelt, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Nixon, Clinton, and others talk about serious policy issues with their advisors, address the nation, or have conversations with friends and family members.

SAADA provides access to over five thousand items in the largest publicly accessible archive of South Asian American stories.

HathiTrust Digital Library brings together digital content from a wide variety of libraries and archives, providing as much access as legally possible.

Schedule a Visit

The RCCC Archive is located in the North Campus Library, on the 2nd floor of building N105.

The Archive is open by appointment 9:00-4:45 Monday through Thursday and 9:00-1:45 on Friday. We are closed on holidays and during semester breaks.

If you are interested in scheduling a visit, please complete this form with as much information as you can.

If you have any questions, please reach out to archives@rccc.edu.

Research Tips

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
From the Society of American Archivists
Dictionary of Archives Terminology
Come across a term while using the archives and don't know what it means? Search here!
Copyright & Fair Use
Though the Archive owns a variety of published and unpublished material, we rarely hold the copyright. Users are responsible for determining copyright status for any items they with to publish or reproduce.
Primary Source Research
Primary sources are first-hand accounts of events including letters and diaries; government, church, and business records; oral histories; photographs and videos; maps and land records; and blueprints.