Archive Services: In Person

1. Determine the material or topic you are interested in.

Materials are divided into collections based on where they came from, and each collection is described in an inventory called a finding aid. These are posted online to allow you to search for and request specific materials that interest you. They also provide contextual information to help you make sense of what you find in the collection. As collections are processed, more finding aids will be available. 

If you are not quite sure what you're looking for, or don't see what you need in the finding aids, fill out the Request Form with as much information as you can and staff will be happy to assist you.

2. Fill out the Visit Request Form with the items you want to see, or the topic you are curious about. 

Please submit this form at least 48 hours in advance whenever possible. Especially if you are not requesting specific folders or items, this gives archives staff time to search for material related to your topic.

3. On your first visit to the archive, you will be asked to read and sign the Access Guidelines, available below.

• Archival materials must be used in the archive with library staff supervision. They may not be checked out or sent through interlibrary loan. Reproductions can be made for teaching or events; originals may be requested in exceptional circumstances with advance notice and approval. Some items, such as VHS tapes and cassettes without digital surrogates, are not accessible due to format or physical condition.

• Researchers are not permitted to browse the archives; staff will retrieve all materials for you.

• All materials are subject to copyright regulations. The user is responsible for copyright compliance.

• Whenever possible, please request materials at least two business days in advance. This allows us time to search for and prepare materials related to your topic. Walk-ins are typically not accepted.

• All researchers must wash their hands before handling materials. Anyone who handles audiovisual or photographic items will be required to wear gloves. 

• Researchers will be asked to sign in and out of the archive and note which collection materials were used. 

• Pencils and paper, laptops, phones, or tablets may be used for taking notes. Pencil and paper are provided. Pens, highlighters, and sticky notes are not permitted in the archive. 

• All other personal items (coats, umbrellas, purses, backpacks, etc.) must be placed in the designated area. 

• Food, beverages, and chewing gum are not allowed in the archive. Sealed items may be placed in the designated area. 

• A maximum of five folders may be taken out at a time. Items should be returned to the folder in the same order they were removed. Flags are available to mark your space. Folders are numbered and should be returned in numerical order. Once returned, researchers may take out another folder.

• Researchers may take photos with their phones. Staff will assist with photocopying if necessary. Students and employees receive free printing, while community users are responsible for copying costs. 

• Researchers must take care to protect our collections. Refrain from writing on or on top of materials, taping, folding, defacing, cutting, or taking any other action that changes the condition of the material. 

The RCCC Archive is located in the North Campus Library, on the 2nd floor of building N105.

The Archive is open by appointment 9:00-6:45 Monday through Thursday. We are closed on holidays and during semester breaks. 

If you are interested in scheduling a visit, please complete this form with as much information as you can.

If you have any questions, please reach out to archives@rccc.edu.